The Federal Emergency Management Agency (“FEMA”) has expanded the number of counties eligible for Individual Assistance. The counties now include: Aransas, Austin, Bastrop, Bee, Brazoria, Caldwell, Calhoun, Chambers, Colorado, DeWitt, Fayette, Fort Bend, Galveston, Goliad, Gonzales, Grimes, Hardin, Harris, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Karnes, Kleberg, Lavaca, Lee, Liberty, Matagorda, Montgomery, Newton, Nueces, Orange, Polk, Refugio, Sabine, San Jacinto, San Patricio, Tyler, Victoria, Walker, Waller, and Wharton. If and when the list of counties eligible for Individual Assistance expands, the Texas Department of Housing and Community Affairs (“TDHCA”) will send out an updated notice.

Housing Tax Credit (“HTC”) properties that have received approval to provide emergency housing may lease units to displaced individuals from any of these 41 counties. If you are the owner of an HTC property and are interested and willing to provide emergency housing to displaced individuals, please complete the following form: and upload it to your CMTS account at:

Please review Revenue Procedure 2014-49 carefully, and in its entirety, to avoid noncompliance. If you have any questions, please contact TDHCA Chief of Compliance Patricia Murphy at 512-475-3140 or


Founded in 1997, the Texas Affiliation of Affordable Housing Providers (TAAHP) is a non-profit trade association serving as the primary advocate and leading resource for the affordable housing industry in Texas. Our vision is to inspire and engage our members and stakeholders to end the affordable housing crisis in Texas.

Contact Us

Mailing Address:
2401 E 6th Street, Ste 3037, PMB 153
Austin, TX 78702

Phone: 512-476-9901 | Email:

Share This