awards $509,000 in collegiate scholarships

By media release | Jun 13, 2017

Dallas, Texas – June 7, 2017- Atlantic Housing Foundation, Inc. (AHF) announces the award of 29 academic and housing scholarships for the Fall 2017 semester, representing $509,000 in awards.

Michael Nguyen, AHF’s President and CEO, is passionate about these biannual scholarship awards because they are instrumental to the organization’s mission of Making a Difference in the lives of low income families and breaking the cycle of poverty through education.

 “We had an incredible pool of applicants this year and are extremely impressed by the commitment to academics shown by our Fall 2017 awardees. These scholarships, in conjunction with our ongoing efforts in the realm of affordable housing, are a critical part of our organization’s ongoing mission to elevate working families through quality services and education,” Nguyen stated.

Dan French, AHF’s Chairman and Founder added, “The excellence displayed by these students is a testimony to their determination and potential contributions to the future of our communities. It is a great honor to be a part of their educational journey.”

Atlantic Housing Foundation has awarded the following recipients:

Academic Scholarship Recipients ($12,000)

  • Thei Tlo of Fort Worth, TX – Paris Junior College
  • Lessly Rocha of McKinney, TX –  Abilene Christian University
  • Diamond Japhets of Houston, TX-  Sam Houston State University
  • Desiree Simmons of Lincolnville, SC – Springfield College
  • Jayla Joulevette of Pearland, TX – Sam Houston State University
  • Taylor Watts of Lincolnville, SC – Trident Technical College
  • Diamond Greene of Arlington, TX – University of North Texas
  • Lauren Mayberry of Denton, TX – University of North Texas
  • Gabriela Vargas of Decatur, TX – University of North Texas
  • Jackson Jones of Columbia, SC – University of South Carolina

University of North Texas Housing Scholarship ($25,000)

  • Walter Torres of Corsicana, TX– University of North Texas
  • Edwin Sepulveda of Garland, TX – University of North Texas

Sam Houston State University Housing Scholarship ($25,000)

  • Alexys Allen of Houston, TX – Sam Houston State University
  • Grace MacJones of Ashburn, VA – Sam Houston State University
  • Ariel Barrera of Dallas, TX – Sam Houston State University
  • James Kimiani of Mesquite, TX – Sam Houston State University
  • Ruby Ibarra of Houston, TX – Sam Houston State University
  • Lona Johnson of Brenham, TX – Sam Houston State University
  • Tyler Josefsen-Lanham of Katy, TX – Sam Houston State University
  • Shamara Lewis of College Station, TX – Sam Houston State University
  • Kennedy Lundberg of Allen, TX – Sam Houston State University
  • Adrian Pennick of Pflugerville, TX – Sam Houston State University

Texas State University Housing Scholarship ($25,000)

  • Lauren Nelson of Honey Grove, TX – Texas State University 

Sharon Murphy Excellence in Education Scholarship ($20,000)

  • Summer Wright of Springtown, TX – North Central Texas College

Sharon Whaley Scholarship for Educators ($20,000)

  • Maria Martinez of Plano, TX – University of North Texas

Bart Marantz Legacy Scholarship ($12,000)

  • Carli Coppell of Canton, TX – Ouachita Baptist University

Dallas Black Chamber of Commerce Scholarship ($4,000)

  • Zawng Man of Dallas, TX – Tarleton State University
  • Rance Albert of Dallas, TX – Earlham College
  • Shyane Banuelos of Dallas, TX – University of North Texas

Atlantic Housing Foundation, founded in 1999, is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit corporation whose mission is to develop and preserve quality affordable housing and related services for low and moderate income families, helping residents improve their lives. Atlantic Housing Foundation is committed to helping their residents by providing services that foster a sense of community, improve quality of life and promote personal growth and advancement. Since 2006, AHF has provided over $5.0  million in scholarships to more than 250 young men and women from disadvantaged backgrounds.