//**randomize slider**//

Three special elections occurred last month in various Texas districts. First, in District 28, which covers the greater Fort Bend County, State Representative John Zerwas resigned to become the executive vice chancellor for health affairs at The University of Texas System. In that race, Republican Gary Gates defeated Democrat Eliz Markowitz with 58% of the vote. Second, in District 100, which covers the southeastern part of Dallas,  Democrat Lorraine Birabil defeated Democrat James Armstrong III, with 66% of the vote in the post November runoff election. This special election was called to fill the seat vacated by now-Mayor of Dallas, Eric Johnson. Lastly, in District 148 which covers the Heights and northwest Houston, a special election was called to fill State Representative Jessica Farrar’s seat, who announced her retirement last year. Democrat Anna Eastman won over Republican Luis LaRotta in the runoff election to finish out the term through the end of 2020. However, Eastman continues the fight to keep the seat, facing four challengers in the March 3 Democratic primary, including Penny Morales Shaw – who was endorsed by Rep. Farrar. Luis LaRotta is running unopposed in the Republican primary.

Share This